Nairobi, Kiambu and Nakuru counties recorded the highest number of new voter applicants during the Mass Voter Registration (MVR) exercise which has seen 3,782,089 new voters listed according to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

Figures released by IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati Tuesday revealed that there were 461,346 new voters (Nairobi), 225,995 (Kiambu) and 175,6756 (Nakuru) during the month-long exercise which begun on January 19 and ended on February 19 following a five- day extension by the High Court.

Meru (169,803), Mombasa (141,686) and Kilifi county (123,866) followed in the fourth, fifth and sixth positions respectively with Machakos (114,320), Kakamega (114,126), Murang’a (101,724) and Uasin Gishu (100,346) completing the top 10 chart.

Kajiado, Mandera and Narok County however recorded the highest turnout compared to projections by the electoral body, according to Chebukati.

The three recorded a massive 240, 116 and 102 per cent of the projected target in the respective counties.

Garissa (92 per cent), Kirinyaga (91 per cent), Kiambu (90 per cent), Wajir (89 per cent), Murang’a (86 per cent), Nakuru (84 per cent) and West Pokot (81 per cent) following closely.

According to Chebukati, IEBC performed significantly well compared to the projections it had set before embarking on the MVR exercise despite less than 100,000 new electors being registered in each of the remaining 37 counties.